Past perfect and Past Perfect continuous

Exercise 2

1: He had married her two years before we met.

2: James told me you had bought the old vicarage two years before your son’s

3: I wish we had bought had bought it before.

4: When I arrived at the station, the train had left .

5: He had been playing tennis for 4 hours when he broke his leg.

6: The dog came into the house once she had finished the housework.

7: He had been driving his car for 10 minutes when he realized it had a flat tire.

8: She had thrown the letter away when she noticed it was not important.

9: He had been swimming for 15 minutes when he understood he had lost his swimsuit.

10: It had been raining for one hour when the wind started to blow.

11: He rushed to the baker’s when he saw his wife had forgotten buy some bread.

12: Sarah was exhausted. She had been washing the dishes for more than three hours.

13: When he saw her, he knew he had met her before.

14: When he phoned her, she had gone  out.

15: When Ron arrived, the party had already begun.

16: The children had already gone to bed when their mother came from work.

17: If I hadn’t been absent yesterday, I would have met him.

18: I was very tired when I arrived home. I had been working hard all day.

19: When I arrived at the party, Tom wasn’t there. He had gone home.

20: When we got home last night, we found that somebody had broken into the flat.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *